Residents are observed to have acquired a taste for international films or TV shows, and supported their imports rather than productions of domestic ones. While not disavowing their significance, I believe that locally-made ones also play an important role in the country.

On the one hand, international movies and TV programs have been widely recognized as beneficial for nations. Indeed, as global integration has been promoted, leading to a thirst for exploration among citizens, these works are of great use in satisfying their demand of assimilating knowledge about other cultures. For example, the movie “Descendent of the Sun” made an indelible impression on audiences by evoking an atmosphere of Korean army, and depicting local youngsters’ enthusiasm for peacekeeping mission, which were not conveyed by its Vietnamese version. Another advantage is that these programs can help domestic artists broaden their experience. Particularly, accomplished foreign actors having a dazzling display of their talents are role models for local professions, especially in countries where film industry is still in its infancy like Vietnam.

On the other hand, I believe that the necessity of local films and TV shows should not be underestimated. From educational prospective, locally-made programs are effective tools for reflecting nations’ history and stimulating juveniles’ interest and national pride. While history is being reported as “boring” by students, such products like documentary films can be an attractive approach to dig lessons deep into their minds. Additionally, compared to its foreign counterparts, local programs seem more efficient in cultural expressions. Specifically, if a foreign movie is imported, impositions of censorship will be applied to eliminate any contents against codes of conduct. By contrast, rarely must domestic ones undergo that process thanks to producers’ deep comprehension of national cultural values.

Briefly, it seems to me that both imports and production of TV programs should be equally treated because of their positive impacts on society.