Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Citizens have acquired a taste for international films and TV shows, and believed that entertainment firms should import them rather than support their production. While not disavowing their significance, I believe that locally - made ones also play an important role in the country.

On the one hand, international movies and TV programs have been widely recognized as beneficial countries. Indeed, as global integration has been promoted, leading to a thirst for exploration among citizens, these works are of great use in satisfying their demand of assimilating knowledge about other cultures. For example, the movie “Descendent of the Sun” made an indelible impression on audiences by evoking an atmosphere of Korean army, and depicting local youngsters’ enthusiasm for peacekeeping mission, which were not entirely conveyed by its Vietnamese version. Another advantage is that these programs can assist domestic artists to broaden their experience. Particularly, international movies with accomplished actors having a dazzling display of their talents are role models for local professions, especially in countries where film industry is still in its infancy like Vietnam.

On the other hand, I believe that the necessity of local films and TV shows should not be underestimated. From educational prospective, locally made programs about the past are effective tools for reflecting nations’ history and stimulating juveniles’ interest and national pride. While history is being reported as “boring” by students, this can be an attractive approach to dig lessons deep into their minds. Additionally, countries’ cultural identities are expressed more effectively by local programs rather than imported one. Specifically, if a foreign movie is imported, the imposition of censorship will be applied to eliminate any contents that are against codes of conduct. By contrast, rarely do domestic ones undergo this process thanks to producers' deep comprehension of national cultural values.

Briefly, it seems to me that both imports and production of TV programs should be equally treated because of their positive impacts on society.