It has been argued that besides providing higher education, the government should assure its free approach for all individuals without caring about their financial status. Personally, while I accept that citizens deserve to have opportunities to attend college, I believe that all of them should not be offered freely.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why everyone should be free to pursue higher education. Firstly, stepping into the 21st century, building up an egalitarian society becomes a priority for states. Therefore, assuring equal chances to acquire tertiary degrees can be seen as an imperative mission, especially when residents are equal in intelligence and scholastic capability. The second reason is that nationwide access to higher education can help states narrow the gap between social classes. Indeed, thanks to academic knowledge acquired at college, people from disadvantaged area can keep pace with others and become competitive when applying for a well-paid job. In other words, this is not only satisfying human basic needs but also a solution to build up the nation’s sustainable development.

On the other hand, free higher education for all financial classes is inappropriate because of many reasons. Firstly, assisting students with their tuition fees will upsurge the government’s expenditure. This may become a financial burden on the authority, pushing it to the verge of bankruptcy or detrimental fiscal policy. In addition, free tuition fee will lead to a higher number of admissions. Obviously, the more students attend, the greater pressure universities will suffer. Consequently, training quality may decline due to lecturers’ difficulties in tailoring their teaching strategies, or preparation for interactive learning.

In brief, although equal chances to attend universities should be ubiquitous, it is unwise for the government to provide free higher education for everyone.