The situation of law and order is worrying in some countries where the crime rate is on a rise. The alarming rise in violent crimes is even more dangerous and there are a few factors contributing to this rise. In this essay I will try to highlight the reasons for this rise and possible solutions to this problem.

The reasons for rise in crime rate can be attributed to the following factors: -

Unemployment and illiteracy– We have seen from the past that rise in unemployment and lack of education is directly proportional to the rise in criminal activities. A person who has no job sometimes coms under the influence of substances like drugs and indulge in criminal activities.

Law and order – This factor can be true for some countries where the influential people tend to get away with even violent crimes. This sets a very wrong precedence in the society and criminals having the support of politicians have little fear of the consequences of the crime.

The most viable solution for this rising problem is to ensure stringent and fast punishments to anyone who is guilty of committing such crimes and inducing fear of punishment which eventually lead to a lower crime rate. In countries like India the pace at which a criminal is convicted is very slow which can be resolved by setting up fast track courts or hiring more judges.

In conclusion better law and order situation accompanying with proper education, better job opportunities to people and robust social welfare schemes have resulted in lower crime rates among countries. For example, Scandinavian countries are among the top in term of happiness index and lowest in crime rates.