In many countries mass consumerism has made food cheaper and food products are becoming increasingly harmful to health. This is because profit is often considered more important than wellbeing. In other words, more food manufacturers are putting profit before health.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays food has been becoming more affordable for people thanks to mass consumerism. However, food products also have a negative impact on human beings because some food companies consider their revenue more important than consumers’ health. I completely agree with such a view.

There are several plausible reasons why food manufacturers are putting profit before health. First, they even add more unhealthy ingredients, including salt, sugar or fat in their products in order to encourage people to consume more. In other words, while people are absolutely full, they cannot deny those flavourful foods which contain much more acceptable levels of such ingredients. As a result, the more food consumers eat, the more profits companies can reap regardless of the health problems that consumers may deal with. Second, by using ingredients of poor quality to minimize the manufacturing costs, food companies’ earnings are growing at the expense of the public’s health. For example, according to an annual report of the Vietnam Ministry of Health, there are thousands of food poisoning related to cheap foods every year. This means that food safety may not be the most concern of these food companies, which can harm directly to people’s health or even cause deaths.

In addition, there are some enormous issues when profits are always put ahead of wellbeing. One of the most urgent issues is that there is an increasing health problem, such as cardiovascular disease or obesity epidemics, relating to consuming too many calories per day. In fact, by making the most of advertisements on media, food companies can shape consumers’ attitude towards their products, leading them to be addicted to such foods. Thus, if food manufacturers do not change their policy, the world will face a medical catastrophe soon. The second problem is that food companies also pose a threat to the environment when it comes to mass consumerism. For example, when they increase their productivity to catch the demand, the amount of toxic chemicals is also released more, which is considered one of the main causes of global warming. As a result, human beings would pay the price for their greed which has caused serious damage to the environment.

In conclusion, although mass consumerism brings benefits to people, I believe that more companies just focus on their revenue rather than human health. The government should raise the level of food safety and pass laws to request more responsibility from food companies to their consumers.