In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? What consequences can this have for the family life and society?

It is argued that the number of hours spending at work is increasing rapidly that people fail to spare time for family and friends. This essay will first discuss some justifying reasons for this phenomenon and then further elaborate its adverse impact on both domestic life and society.

One of the primary reasons for this issue is employee’s ambition to climb the career ladder. With a view to seizing promotion opportunities, clerical workers overburden themselves with heavy workloads; hence a tendency in working overtime. Employer’s stereotype towards working ability, which assumes that working hours are proportionate to working prowess, also contributes to the emergence of this phenomenon. Workers are found spending more time at their workplaces in order to prove their labour productivity to their bosses. The prevalence of this affair has been observed in some cultures, namely Japan or South Korea.

This emerging issue poses a variety of threats to both family life and the society. There is more likelihood of developing domestic conflicts among workers failing to achieve work-life balance. As the result, family relationships are deteriorated significantly and can even be led to domestic violence in some cases. Moreover, employees are expected to be available for work in their off-hours, which makes friends drift apart as work is prioritized over friend gatherings. This practice has jeopardized the society with an increasing gap between individuals.

In conclusion, the tendency of workers spending more time at work happens for some apparent reasons and its disadvantageous impacts are observed in both domestic and social life. It is predicted that, without proper measures, this trend will continue into the foreseeable future.