In many countries, people can eat a wide variety of food that are grown in other areas. As a result, they eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Exported foods are widely consumed all over the world, yet arguments about whether this development produces an unfavorable impact on life’s quality seem to not be ceased. In my opinion, I believe that this has both positive and negative effects.

It is clear that exported products may not be beneficial for health. International foods take time going through transporting, reviewing, and supervising. A product from another continent can take up to 3 months of transferring and checking, therefore, will not be fresh as when it was harvested. As a result, exported foods comprise a significant amount of preservatives. Preservatives is a chemical substance to prevent cuisine from rotting and affects people’s digestion system in the long run. As this hazard will not decompose easily, it has the ability to cause cancer and other health effects. Recent research announced that if a young adult consumed conservatives on a daily basis, their longevity would decrease by 10 years.

However, international consumptions provide variety and convenience. In a community where various races are living together, development and adaptation are inevitable. Foods are the main factor of life quality, and by accepting foods from other areas, this substantially increases comfort and convenience. Moreover, exported products are generally cheaper. For instance, basa fish exported from Vietnam is half the price of a salmon but contains a similar amount of nutrition. This wide range of choices enables individuals to pick the most suitable products for their health and finance.

To conclude, exported foods have a two-sided effect. With the proper use and consumption, these products will create a dual-benefit to health and convenience.