In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is noticeable that a growing number of dressing in western-influenced clothing instead of their traditional clothes. In my opinion, it closely related to cultural and commercial globalization and bring about broadly negative effect to traditional clothing.

The main cause of this phenomenon is the convenience of technology and transportation which accelerate globalization and allow corporations more easily affect people wearing. The individual usually inclines to accept mainstream clothing culture because it is much comfortable as well as more suitable for different occasions. For instance, people would wear t-shirts and jeans rather than traditional riko or fodoy in daily life. Furthermore, their corporation usually has affordable prices which will attract more people to buy. For example, companies like Zara and H&M always produce abundant identical items of clothing at much cheaper prices.

There is no doubt that this influence enables people to get lower prices, however, there are also some negative impacts on this cultural diversity. First, national consciousness will be weakened under this tremendous trend. Thus, it will lead the country to lose the traditional techniques such as textile and dyeing clothing. Second, we should not be completely discarded our local clothing, if we do not promote them it is likely that it may become extinct. Accordingly, these local industries symbolize our culture and identity so it is necessary to preserve them.

In conclusion, western fashion trends are ubiquitous today which represents traditional clothing is in negative development. Personally, it is important to strike a balance between following new culture and protect traditional culture.