In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages ?

In the modern day, plastic containers have become well-known items being used in the food and beverage industry. Manufacturers and individuals might benefit from such a switch, however, I am convinced that its adverse implications are more considerable.

On the one hand, plastic containers could bring several benefits to companies and users. First of all, some of the noticeable advantages of plastic are its durability, weight and resistance, consequently, plastic containers are widely used among food and drink supply chains for many purposes in order to prevent leakage and damage. Furthermore, using plastic containers could help manufacturers and restaurants to reserve their food quality as well as prolonging the shelf-life of products, providing these sellers more opportunities to diversify their takeaway or delivery services. Finally, as raw materials of plastics such as crude oil are fairly cheap; therefore, manufacturers tend to use plastic containers in order to minimize their production costs, hesitating to make a transition to other materials.

However, I believe the consequences of utilizing plastic containers are more significant. Since plastic could remain for millions of years due to its durability, it is difficult for people to destroy them without causing harmful effects on the environment. Firstly, the incineration of plastic products would release huge amounts of exhaust fumes, which are detrimental to the atmosphere as well as aggravating the deterioration of global warming. Secondly, some irresponsible individuals even dump garbage directly into the ocean, this might release microscopic particles from plastic decomposition, posting a threat to the entire ecosystem. As a result, these plastic debris once were eaten by the marine animals and remained in their organisms, which could have long-term impacts on human well-being who might consume them with some significant health problems such as cancer.

In conclusion, despite some advantages of plastic containers that give them a comparative edge over other materials in the food and drink industry, I would argue that their negative effects on the environment and human health could not be overlooked.