In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

These days, it seems that more and more plastic containers are utilized by businesses than ever before. Although I agree that this trend might bring about some beneficial impacts, I believed that these positive impacts are overshadowed by many negative influences.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that the prevalence of plastic containers has revolutionized human life. First, plastic has always been a cheap material, which would act as a stimulus for beverage companies to cut down expenses on manufacture. Recent researches indicated that ever since those companies make the most of plastic in lieu of other materials including glass or tin, their average spending on raw materials reduces by at least 30%. Another striking feature of using plastic containers is its convenience. For instance, in the proliferation of food delivery, utilizing plastic boxes would allow customers to have more substantial options of dishes with cheaper prices, thereby facilitating the revenue of such restaurants.

On the other hand, I believe that the advantages pale in comparison with accompanying drawbacks. First, plastic has always been posing a threat to the environment. It is a scientifically-proven view that plastic would hardly ever biodegrade. Certain studies showed that plastic accounted for 70% of the daily amount of waste produced - a remarkable percentage. If the consumption of plastic continues to increase in long term, the whole world will soon stink in a mountain-rubbish of plastic. Second, the wildlife impact of plastic is undeniably staggering. Scientists pointed that one of the most common culprits accounting for the death of animals was plastic trash, as they accidentally consumed small pieces of plastic or they got stuck in plastic boxes, unable to get out, and then starved to death.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of using plastic containers are more significant than the possible benefits in modern society.