Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is a widely-held view among people that some nations invest in sports facilities for the use of professional athletes rather than for general public. While there has been a growing body in favor of this action, which will assist in accomplishing international sports awards on behalf of the countries, I am of the opinion that this trend is a detrimental development.

On the one hand, governance policies that pump a considerable amount of money into selecting and upgrading facilities would benefit the professionals. Behind the glow of winning, being an athlete is undeniably a risky career that can only perform in the short term. To be at the peak of the condition, players will be forced to participate frequently in constant hard training, pushing them towards the limits on the grounds, which might result in a high probability of injuries. If they were trained in specialized facilities to ensure safety grounds, this would prevent and minimize life-threatening injuries, acting as a stimulus for them to achieve goals more quickly.

On the other hand, excessively focusing on training facilities for professionals has a negative influence from a societal perspective. Firstly, the lack of public sports facilities is the main factor accounting for the increase in a sedentary lifestyle, which acts as a precursor to confront much more severe potential health risks such as obesity, diabetes or heart illness. Secondly, the government uses the country’s budget to build special facilities, primarily funded by the annual tax of all citizens, not just specific individuals. Hence, funding such facilities would cut the federal budget for other essential areas like health, education and the military. This will act as a deterrent to sustaining social stability, which renders the country’s socioeconomic growth ineffective.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible to me that even though this phenomenon has some positive effects, it would be better if policymakers devote more time and financial resources to other fields to benefit the majority as a whole.