Governments should make laws about people’s nutrition and food choice. Others argue that it is their choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a widely-held view among people about whether citizens’ selection of food should be regulated by governments’ policies. While this measure might have some beneficial impacts, I still believe that the choice of food should be decided by each individual.

On the one hand, legislation about food consumption could act as a stimulus to improve citizens’ health. A standard of essential nutrition about what a person should take to maintain a healthy body would be set, thereby ensuring that nobody would be devoid of nutrients needed, which could trigger long-term repercussions. Recent research indicated that one of the most common diseases leading to life-threatening conditions was malnutrition, which undoubtedly created by the lacking of integral nutrients. Therefore, by being informed about eating habits, people would be more likely to adopt a properly balanced diet, which was scientifically proved to be the key to overall well-being.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that a law regulating people’s consumption of foods is unlikely to accommodate everyone’s needs. Indeed, there are many factors that account for a person’s selection of dishes for his meals ranging from taste preferences, nutritional demands to financial constraints. For instance, some people would choose to sit down at a fast-food store possibly because it might the be only lunch set that they could afford. Furthermore, by consuming a balanced diet filled with a wide range of foods, it is easier to ensure that people would consume adequate amounts of all essential nutrients. This not only reduces the risk of nutritional deficiencies, but it also provides numerous health benefits.

In conclusion, although governmental control of one’s consumption might be of help to a more science-based diet, I believe people must be allowed to consume whatever they desire.