In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, people have a tendency to consume junk food excessively and thus are prone to diseases such as diabetes and obesity. While many people believe that a higher tax scheme should be imposed to tackle this trend, I disagree with this view because of several reasons.

Firstly, imposing a higher tax might prevent the middle-income and the poor from consuming, however, this idea would be counterproductive to the busy. Even though the costs of fast food are grossly inflated, being recorded double or even triple than the average costs of local food in Vietnam, the busy still opts to already-made food rather than investing time in having a proper meal, due to they are lack of time to waste. Consequently, this would be hard to reduce to consumption of fast-food virtually.

Furthermore, there are some more effective and practical measures that should be considered to address this problem from both societal and governmental perspectives. Firstly, it is essential for parents to spend their time making nutritional meals for their family. This would act as a deterrent for their children and other family members to consume packaged food. Therefore, they are ensured to adopt a balanced diet, equipped with fundamental vitamins and minerals needed, which assist them in achieving and sustaining healthy conditions. Secondly, the policymakers should launch campaigns to raise their inhabitants’ awareness regarding detrimental substances contained in fast-food such as artificial additives, which undoubtedly can lead to malnutrition and life-threatening condition if used excessively. As a result, these people would be more conscious about what they consume and avoid this food.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible to me that imposing taxes on fast-food would not be effective for the busy, and there are other substantial ways to address this issue.