The increasing use of mobile phones and computer has had a negative effect on young people’s writing and reading skills. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely-held view among people whether the significant rise in the use of technological devices has influenced the younger generation. While there has been a growing body favor of this phenomenon having detrimental effects on their writing and reading skills, I completely disagree with this view.

Firstly, it is no doubt true that the young are being granted an opportunity to access every resource of knowledge needed much more quickly than ever before. People used to make a trip to the library whenever they wanted to borrow some books, and there was a limit on the number of books they could borrow each time they visited. However, in light of the proliferation of technological advancements, leading-edge technology allows people to read whatever and whenever they want with just a press on their devices, for instance, the Godreads app. Less complex procedures demanded when reaching materials will result in an increase in the amount of information an individual can acquire, which acts as a precursor to improve not only reading skills but also personal knowledge.

Secondly, in terms of writing skills, using technological keyboards give younger people permission to write comfortably regardless of how bad their handwriting is. Without having to adjust the handwriting to adapt to standards, people can devote more time to enhance the quality of their produced content. The better the quality of their works, the more valuable a contribution they can make on a societal level, ultimately stimulating the country’s socioeconomic progression. Furthermore, this will boost them towards on the grounds for reaching their potential, resulting in comprehensive personal development if persisting in the long term.

In conclusion, it might seem sensible to me that utilizing handphones and computers can bring constructive benefits to young individuals’ writing and reading skills.