Some people say the government should give healthcare the first priority, some others believe there are more important priorities to spend the taxpayers’ money. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

There is a widely-held view among people about whether or not the citizens’ healthcare should be the government’s priority. While there has been a growing body of opinion in favor of putting more resources into other factors, I am of the opinion that we should concentrate our government’s budget on healthcare.

On the one hand, it is undoubtedly true that other factors like education, infrastructure and environmental protection have their undeniable value. For instance, education will act as a stimulus to illuminate people’s minds and thinking as well as broaden their horizons, leading to spurring technological advances and innovations, which is especially vital in light of the proliferation of technological advancements. As for infrastructure, well-designed ones will facilitate the flow of products and services, which is constructive for the country’s socio-economic development. Environment protection would secure to achieve sustainable development, which could prevent the environmental degradation not only for ourselves but also for the future.

On the other hand, healthcare is a crucial government investment to sustain economic growth and maintain social stability. People who are covered by government-funded and affordable health plans can be exempted from the enormous financial burdens of the feesthey have to pay when getting sick, thereby feeling more secure and less financially stressed. The healthier their mental and physical conditions are, the more valuable a contribution they can make on a societal level, ultimately stimulating economic development. In addition, this can help to raise the average life expectancy of residents, which acts as a precursor when evaluating the happiness index of countries worldwide.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be better if policymakers made it a top priority to provide the public with adequate and affordable medical resources and treatment.