Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it seems that more women are choosing to start a family later in life than ever before. Personally, I believe that there are both financial and social factors that account for this change, and I would argue that this change has much more advantages than disadvantages.

The opting of not having children early is especially preferred by most women all over the world for some reason. Firstly, it is undoubtedly necessary that both men and women have to earn living in order to make end needs. Before embarking on parenthood, they must take into account their financial ability in order to support the family. Secondly, in social terms, nowadays, as a result of the development in awareness of society in general as well as of women in particular about the equal rights between men and women, women have a tendency to be dependent on personal finance before having a family and children. This seems like a guarantee of them before entering the world of married.

I consider that the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negatives ones. On the one hand, some negative factors still exist, such as many women would love to have children when they are still young because of a few personal reasons. Meanwhile, the explosion of the human population has led to many problems such as food scarcity or the lack of infrastructure. Besides, the later a woman embarking on parenthood, the more mature she is when making decisions. This will help reduce the percentage of families which end in divorce in particularly as well as the society’s vices in general.

In conclusion, for economic and social reasons many women are choosing to have children later in life. Despite the disadvantages, I believe that these are outweighed by the positive environmental consequences.