In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

The authorities’ imposing a prohibition of utilizing grocery bags is a highly controversial topic in a large number of nations. While the opinion that using plastic bags has such detrimental effects on the ecosystem that they should be banned have gained widespread acceptance, I firmly hold the view that their role in everyday life is indispensable and therefore nylon bags can not be get rid of.

On one hand, there are some compelling reasons behind the protest against the daily use of domestic bags, chief of which is that they effect devastatingly on the aquatic ecosystem. As a matter of fact, every day, there is a huge amount of plastic shopping bags dumped improperly into the oceans, which is eaten by an abundance of marine species such as whales, fish or mammals. Therefore, this has led to a large population of endangered animals dying off at a breakneck speed. Another part of the ecosystem which is vulnerable to the uncontrolled domestic bags disposal is the inland environment. In fact, the nylon bags, once are thrown to the trash can, are collected and buried. From a scientifically perspective, this type of container takes approximately a hundred of years to completely discompose, during which the plastic bags emit toxic substance themselves. Hence, those noxious chemicals can destructively contaminate land and groundwater sources.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the policy-makers should not impose a blanket ban on plastic bags simply because they are more affordable than other alternatives. Nowadays, cotton bags are gaining more and more popularity among environmentalists for being environmentally-friendly; nevertheless, in the economic terms, they are much more expensive than the traditional shopping bags. Therefore, if the state bar consumers from using nylon bags, they may have to spend higher amount of cash on cotton bags, which can result in strong public opposition. Hence, instead of prohibiting individuals of shopping with domestic bags, governments should encourage their citizens to reuse plastic bags, this would lead to the significant reduction in disposed grocery bags, and the degree of pollution is likely to decrease as a result.

To sum up, despite several environmental threats of the overuse of plastic shopping bags, this kind of container plays an utmost important role in people’s every day consumption; therefore, any suggestion about banning shoppers from using these domestic items is prove ineffective.