Imprisonment is typically the punishment for criminal behaviour and is a de facto standard worldwide. Nonetheless, there are concerns whether imprisonment constitutes the most effective method in relation how to deal with criminals. Alternative solutions are put forth, one of which embraces education as a crime prevention tool. I argue, however, that education alone cannot in and by itself serve as an effective solution for crime prevention.

The notion that education can be a prime crime preventer is farcical on its face and is not supported by any serious statistics. A prime example that illustrates this fact can readily be uncovered when considering the worldwide recession starting in late 2009, which was primarily caused by unethical and often unlawful acts of higly educated individuals in the finance industry. Few of the actors at the centre of this scandal actually went to prison, while millions of ordinary people worldwide lost money, jobs and even their homes.

On the other hand, when looking at incarceration rates, the US is world leader and imprisons a large percentage of their poor population, many of whom are people of colour. Whilst this specific circumstance can be quite uniquely attributed to the US criminal system, given some of their harsh crimal laws leading to life imprisonment for petty crimes, it nonetheless exemplifies that criminal law does not neccessarily encapsulate true justice. Noone should go to jail for dealing with marihuana, let alone serve a life sentence.

In conclusion I argue that the criminal system is biased in favour towards the wealthy and the mighty and does not actually reflect what many would consider a fair justice system. It is my contention that in order to prevent crimes, the discrepancy between poor and rich has to be addressed so that people can actually pursue a life of happiness without having to worry about their next pay check.