In many countries, prison is the most common solution for crimes. However, many think that better education is the most effective way to prevent people from committing further crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Despite the fact that it is a universal practice to imprison criminals, many people opine that quality education is the most efficient way of deterring people from reoffence. I think that education is one of the possible approaches, but other measures are equally important.

One the one hand, education can be an efficient instrument of limiting reoffence, owing to having capacity of changing outlook in criminals by instilling new mindset and conceptions. As knowledge enables them to understand the nature of crime and possible consequences, in many cases, inmates or criminals do not reoffend. Also, education creates opportunity for people to have a better living, thereby, helps them not to involve in a crime. Admittedly, it is true that education has enormous potential to motivate people, however, its effectiveness is being questioned as an increasing number of educated people are engaging in criminal activities, and in the USA alone, this number is more than 20% of total criminals.

On the other hand, prison can be considered as safer and stable institution of criminal reforms. This is mainly because the environment inside the jail is not friendly, rather full of hardships and challenges, and in many cases, violence is a common scenario. Having endured such painful experience, many offenders get their life-long lessons, and do not think of breaking or coming in contact with the law again, thus, limiting the number of reoffenders.

All in all, in my opinion, the best approach is to combine all these solutions to address the issue. What I think is that education can be a great option, but not the last answer. So, we should think of how we can integrate all of these options to counteract reoffence.