Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion

It is often said that children benefit the most attending a boarding school, especially in today’s competitive world, where excellence is a must. However, this notion is not completely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and reach a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support boarding schools cite various possible advantages that the institutions might offer to the youngsters. These range from profound academic achievements, to learning essential life skills that might guide them in their adult life. Examples can be seen in many traditional boarding facilities, where they hire qualified professionals to equip their students with the latest knowledge and technologies, leading to an all-round education to the pupils. Also, these students can focus better on their studies because television, video games, mobile phone and other distractions are limited, creating an environment conducive to learning. Moreover, those who attend this type of schools not only learn quickly many useful domestic chores, but also complete their school assignments by themselves. In this way, they become expert at managing their time, money and resources, allowing them to become independent and more likely to succeed in college and life as well. Thus, boarding school ensures academic progression as well as personal growth.

By contrast, opponents of the view point out that those who attend boarding schools, become institutionalised, meaning that these people can not adapt well outside the regulated framework of school. In addition, many fears that the teachers are not substitute for their parents as it is completely impossible to replicate behaviours of the parents and the children do not learn much from their parents. To illustrate, these children lack ideal role models and can be influenced greatly by peer pressure. Finally, it is possible for some young people to suffer from various mental health problems as all children cannot adapt quickly in a restricted environment. For instance, research into boarding schools have revealed that a great many percentages of students are suffering from mental illness due to lack of emotional supports.

Overall, it appears that despite various drawbacks, interests of the children are better served when they study in a boarding school as these institutions tend to provide academic achievements as well as lay foundation stone for personal developments.