In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

In the threshold of the new era, an uplift the number of people are concerned about elderly-related problems. While many people have varying view with regard to whether it is a positive trend to climb steadily the percentage of aging population in a variety of countries, my view is that it has a negative influence on societies.

It is irrefutable that the aging of population has indeed several disadvantages. Firstly, the more people retiring, the fewer workforce is, resulting in imbalance in terms of economy. Governments have to rely indeliberately on immigration from other areas to improve the level of inequality while this is less-than-desirable solution. Aside from that, the trend of aging population establish a grand challenge for governments regarding social welfare, including retirement funds and health care services for oldster, especially ones who live in rural areas. Take Viet Nam as a particular example, which has the fastest pace of aging in Asia, the senior citizens living in rural, mountainous areas, and who are ethnic minority people only access to poor quality services. Accordingly, it is inevitable for government bodies to pay more attention as well as to pay a huge money for elderly’s social security policies in order to keep up with this trend.

Nevertheless, that is not to say that an increasing of older people is unbeneficial. The elderly, particulary, are able to make contributons to whole society via participate volunteer organizations, support their family by supervising the household and taking care of children. Provied that administrations make an effort to guarantee and to improve income for the aged through their employment and retirement, there would be likely to more opportunities to perform their capability in various fields. However, only few someones of them can do that such as older scientists and professionals obviously.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I suppose that aging of population have serious impact on economies and societies. In addition, gorvernment should give appropriate policies to enhance this status at present as well as in the long run. By doing so, the society operate effectively and efficiently.