In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

All over the globe, the number of older people is increasing due to the advancement in medical science and low workplace accidents. In my opinion, although this development has increased life expectancy, it will result in more negative impacts on society. This essay will back my opinion while looking at both the pros and cons of this trend.

One of the major advantages of this trend is that it will increase the number of experienced professionals. Since experienced people are proved to be more efficient as compared to their inexperienced counterparts, this trend will result in the better workplace practices consequently more revenue will be generated. For example, mostly human resource agents want at least two years of job experience in relevant field because it will help company to utilize their valuable experience.

On the other hand, there are some serious drawbacks regarding to this drift which should also be considered. Firstly, over population is the biggest concern nowadays due to the severity of this problem. In other words, earth can accommodate only certain number of inhabitants. Therefore, researchers think that if the population growth remain constant then there will be no place for future generations. Secondly, older people require more medical care which is causing extra funds to be invested in medical budget. To illustrate, according to a recent survey, Pakistan in spending over 60 percent of its budget on healthcare departments and the demand will surely increase as result of rise in older people numbers in the future.

In conclusion, it is true that the increase in the number of older people will cause a rise in the proportion of experienced professionals but problems like over population and economy crisis will also accompany it. Therefore, governments should focus more on young generation rather than investing a huge amount on older people because former will be responsible for carrying country in the future.