In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

What is your opinion on that?

Over the past decades, it is widely believed that the medical advancement has fostered the longevity around the globe. Despite the ensuring enhancement on well-being of average citizens, this seismic shift has begot a financial burden to our society. The aim of this essay is set to explore the societal benefit pertainning to additional manpower and a detrimental effect on economy.

To begin with, there is ample evidence suggested that the old people nowadays are generally perceived as workforce in some less strained domain. In fact, compared to our ancestors, having shaped a healthy habit with regular workouts and nourishment, senior people are deemed engrossed in producing values to the communities in their late life. Recent empirical research from the Elderly Committee ascertained that 70% retirees participated in voluntary works entailing part-time music teaching and homework tutoring. Seen in this light, these extra workforce generated by the elderly are likely to ameliorate the increasing demands necessitating by their neighbours.

Although the benefits given to neighbourhood are remarkable, the impact of the expanding senior group on overall nation should not be overstated. What this means is the fact that the major livelihood of the elderly has a high tendency to be underpinned by social security and pension they earned from the past employers. Having conducted an extensive study, the Hong Kong University established that the number of retired people who count on pension or social security has quadrupled over the pass 20 years. Considering with this line of thinking, this national expenditure has cumulated with ageing population. Meanwhile, coupled with the allowance that subsidising the concession fee for transportation, the economic development would be hindered under the growing contention in globalisation.

In conclusion, while these passionate and committed senior workforce constitute auspicious assistants in the neighbourhood, they are also tentamount to impediments to national development. Yet, it is predicted that the ageing process will remain insurmountable in foreseeable future due to the progress of science and technology.