In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

What is your opinion on that?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether ageing population is the beneficial or detrimental effect to our society. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the latest sociological discoveries have casted light on the ensuing implication in accordance with the intensified burden on economy and additional senior workforce in neighbourhood. This essay will discuss both views by using the examples from the Hong Kong University.

To begin with, the hindrance of societal development is intuitively perceived as a downside of the increasing proportion of older people. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly business sectors need to rise the budget for paying pension. Secondly, the government spending on social welfare is likely to surge. In fact, recent empirical research from the Hong Kong University established that the construction of facilities designated to the elderly has accounted for a significant proportion of the overall expenses in past decades. Moreover, even if some seniors originating from affluent families seldom employ the related public service, the use of medication and treatment is deemed more time-consuming comparing to their junior counterparts. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the ageing population, to a considerable extent, impede the growth of a nation.

Although there is a case for straining the public resources, the impact of ageing population cannot be overstated, in particular the extra workforce that are affordable in neighbourhood. This is largely because the medical advancement ensure the retirees possessing an energetic vitality, which in turn pave the way for them to participate in social work. For instance, according to an extensive study from the Hong Kong University, the utilisation of child-care service offered by the elderly has been witnessed a growth over the last decade. Admittedly, nurture might be better handled by parents; however, without the preparation of family dinner by these skilled elderly, the prolonged working hours is likely to weaken the family bonding. Seen in this light, the employment of a senior home assistant increase the likeliness of harmonised family even if both parents need to work.

In conclusion, there is ample evidence suggesting that the ageing population constitutes a positive driver underpinning the busy society at a cost of financial burden facing by the governments worldwide. It is predicted that tax will be increased to balance the spending in the foreseeable future.