In many countries, the quality of life in large cities is becoming worse. What are the causes for this problem? What measures do you think should be taken to tackle the problem?

Nowadays, there has been a serious deterioration in the living standards of city dwellers in metropolitan areas in various nations. This essay aims to discuss several of the principal reasons causing this phenomenon and suggest some practical solutions to address the issues.

The degradation of living conditions in particular urban areas is attributable to a host of reasons. First and foremost, today's environment in large cities is highly contaminated by toxic chemical pollutants released from many factories, which is to blame for deleterious health effects on residents. It is exemplified by an ever-increasing number of patients who suffer from cancer and other pollution-related diseases like asthma in metropolitan cities. Another compelling cause is that the living costs in these areas have been on the rise due to population density, which puts heavy pressure on the financial budget and has negative effects on people’s quality of life. For example, in Hanoi, the expenditure spent by each individual is much more significant than that of other smaller cities, thereby, a lot of citizens can not afford their own houses.

Administrative authorities can take into consideration some possible methods to deal with this negative development. Applying higher taxes charged on manufactured whose production waste harms the environment or imposing severe fines on enterprises dumping toxic waste illegally can be effective approaches. The factories, therefore, are more likely to factor in improving their waste disposal process and not violating the law, ensuring a better environment for citizens. Furthermore, the government should introduce and enforce preferential policies to encourage people to move to other less densely populated areas, reducing the increasing demand for goods and services in large cities. The costs of living in those regions, as a result, would decrease, paving the way for better living standards.

To sum up, environmental degradation and high living costs are responsible for the low quality of life in metropolitan areas, but proper policies and strict laws are highly recommended to solve the above issues.