In many countries, smoking is illegal in public places. many people believe this ban as justified.

do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is forbidden in public places like parks, resorts, restaurants in many nations. This essay agrees with this move because it reduces the adverse effects of second-hand smoke and also helps smokers to quit from cigarette smoking.

The leading reason why imposing a strict ban to smoke in public makes sense is preventing innocent people from passive smoking. The so-called second-hand smoke can lead to many detrimental smoking-related diseases such as lung cancer,heart attack, stroke and is something that non-smokers cannot escape in the presence of smokers. In the article, 'Health effects of second-hand smoke' it states, non-smokers who are exposed to passive smoking are 25 -30 per cent more likely to develop heart diseases than the people who are not the partakers of second-hand smoke.

The second main reason why prohibiting cigarette smoking in socialized areas is a good idea that encourages people who addicted to cigars, marijuana can give up on smoking. When there is a gathering or a social meet up, people who smoke is ostracised from the room or group if they want to light up. As a result, they would prefer to enjoy their stay rather than go out to smoke and this helps the smokers to quit from unhealthy habits. In a recent study, it says, that Ireland is the first country to introduce a nationwide ban on smoking in public places which results in a number of smokers have been decreased.

In conclusion, making a total ban to smoke in public places should be encouraged because it prevents innocent people from falling prey to deadly effects of passive smoking and reduces the smoking addictions.