Many countries spend a lot of money in the arts. Some people think investment in the arts is necessary, but others say money is better spent on public services and facilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The government sometimes faces opposition when spending its budget on public art, especially in economically tough times. I reckon that we should give priority to essential services and infrastructures and then fund the arts when there is a budget surplus.

The supporters of the public funds for the arts argue that cities can become more visually attractive because of art. It is true that artworks, including sculptures, paintings and statues can decorate public facilities such as libraries, metro stations, or even toilets, and increase the artistic appeal of these places. If the art industry prospers, cities will have art exhibitions, art festivals and other cultural activities which can make urban life dynamic and interesting. Exposure to artworks can reduce our pressure and put us in a good mood.

Depite this, many people would argue that public facilities deserve more of public money. Ordinary people are more interested in public facilities, which have a direct impact on their living standards. For example, good sanitation and clean water can improve people's health and reduce diseases, while schools and libraries can disseminate knowledge and improve young people's job prospects. In contrast, sculptures, paintings and operas are luxury items to most people and are not likely to bring tangible benefits to them.

In my views, improvements in public facilities can promote economy development, but the arts may be less important in economic terms. For example, the investment in the transport system can improve the productivity of working people by making daily commuting easier, while the public spending on high-speed railway systems and airports can ensure that cargo can be delivered faster. cities can attract investment and become wealthy, so people's living standards can also be improved. By contrast, the investment in the arts can't create such returns in a short time.

To sum up, I believe that the government should focus on services and facilities vital to the wellbeing of the general public, even though artistic projects can make our cities spectacular.