In many countries, students leave school with no understanding of how to manage their money. Why is the case? What can be done to improve students’ understanding of personal finance management?

Nowadays, it is increasingly common for many school leavers to lack an understanding of personal financial management. From my perspective, this urgent phenomenon can be attributed to two rational reasons and it needs several solutions to tackle.

To begin with, there are two reasons for this problem namely parental overprotection and the deficiency of practical lessons associated with financial management skills. First and foremost, parental overpopulation is an age-old problem. In fact, it is parents that are willing to provide financial support without hesitation; therefore, children have a tendency to take their parent’s material support for granted and lavish money. Children living in wealthy conditions can be an obvious example. They tend to buy expensive items such as local brand clothes or toys without parental permission. Secondly, the shortage of finance subjects in the educational system leads to a lack of understanding of how to strike a balance between income and expenditure. School curriculum, these days, are placing a strong emphasis on academic subjects such as mathematics, literature, and chemistry; however, they neglect many essential skills related to personal financial management. As a result, not only do students solely have knowledge of theory but they also lack practical skills for an appropriate expenditure plan.

This raises a question of how to deal with such an urgent problem. The answer can be found in both the educational system and parental education. When it comes to the educational system, basic personal money management skills should be included in mandatory studying programs, which could help learners to be aware of the money value and ready to enter the workforce. The second viable solution is education at home. If parents equipped their offspring with soft skills, especially money management, their children are likely to have adequate awareness of suitable spending plans. Additionally, they should take their financial aid for their children into thorough consideration with a view to making wise decisions and forcing their children to become financially independent.

In conclusion, it seems to me that managing money is difficult for school leavers which requires radical solutions to counteract. Therefore, students need to raise their awareness of reasonable spending with the purpose of being self-sufficient when entering the workforce.