Q4: these days, consumers are faced with an increasing amount of advertising from various companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertising? What measures should be taken to protect them?

Owing to the dramatic development of the economy, commercials are increasingly popular on many social platforms. Therefore, consumers have to face an enormous number of advertisements from different companies. From my perspective, purchasers are seriously influenced by this practice in terms of shopping habits and financial situation, which needs radical solutions to tackle.

There are several detrimental impacts posed by the prevalence of advertisements. Inappropriate shopping habits are born due to personal preferences. It is the advent of commercials of various products on people’s social accounts that stimulates their demand and curiosity about the items, leading to the excessive purchase. Especially, companies and brands have a tendency to exploit consumers’ vulnerability in psychology to give promotions and vouchers for certain products. The situation of Black Friday is an obvious example. In particular, shopaholic buyers tend to purchase items even unnecessary ones with promotions with moderate prices although they are aware of the price increase before giving out promotions. As a result, they have to waste an excessive amount of money on unsuitable products.

This raises a question of what are possible measures to minimize the adverse influences on consumers. The answer can be found in the government’s censorship and the buyers’ carefulness. With regard to the governments, not only should they scrutinize the content of advertisements but they also control the target customers of these commercials in case the advertised items are harmful. When it comes to individuals, they can read reviews and descriptors of these items with a view to making an appropriate decision to buy necessary and useful products.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the effective characteristic, advertisements should be strictly regulated by authorities because of their detrimental impacts on the financial situation and shopping habits. Therefore, the purchasers should take all aspects of products into consideration to buy suitable items.