Task 2: Nowadays, people all over the world are spending more and more time apart from their families. Why is this happening? How does this affect people and their families?

These days, it is increasingly common for people to spend time for their private lives rather than their families. As far as I am concerned, this practice can be attributed to two rational reasons and it has several adverse impacts on both individuals and their families.

To begin with, there are two radical reasons for this development namely the generation gap and the boom of Internet entertainment. First and foremost, the generation gap is an old-age problem. On account of the age disparity, a deficiency of understanding and sympathy is born, which has the tendency to make persons fall into a closed life. Moreover, many family activities can be inappropriate for their personalities; hence, they are prone to have personal activities. Secondly, the dramatic development of technology is also considered another cause. In the past, families spent time together in various outdoor activities, while nowadays, they are engrossed in an imaginary world with texting and games. For example, children especially juveniles tend to be attached to screens almost all their free time instead of talking with their parents and siblings.

The tendency of private life brings about undesirable effects. In terms of individuals, they are susceptible to emotional problems resulting from the shortage of family communication. Indeed, they have difficulty confiding their troubles and expressing their real emotion to their parents. Additionally, generational communication among parents and offspring might be weakened. Spending much time apart from family can tarnish the basic function of the family is to support and sympathize each other. Thus, family members are subject to gradually drift apart.

In conclusion, the trend of spending less time with families could stem from the generation gap and the advent of new entertainment forms, posing a variety of negative influences on both individuals and their families. Therefore, it seems to me that people should balance their lives to have a suitable amount of time with their families.