In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Over decades, there has been an upward trend in a large number of suburban people living in solitude or in nuclear family instead of in multigenerational ones. From my own view, this is a positive phenomenon, despite some drawbacks it may have.

First of all, if people decide to live in one-person households, then the intrusion of member’s privacy will no loner exist. This is because nobody can violate their own space without any permission. As a result, they will be left to their own devices to develop their sense of freedom and become more independent by living their own life. Secondly, living on somebody’s own or in small units helps reduce conflicts among family members in extended families, which mostly stem from the differences in personal opinions, lifestyles, especially the curfews. Thus, members who live alone do not need to obey these fixed rules as a means to restrict the ways they enjoy their own life. For instance, they may find it much more relaxing to hang out with friends and come home until midnight without receiving any complaints or reproaches. In terms of financial affairs, living alone or in small units is also a great advantage. In other words, fewer people living in the same roof means lesser energy is consumed, and this leads to fewer amounts of money will be monthly paid for the electricity bills. Moreover, there will be less burden on the shoulder of the breadwinner, who otherwise may take the greater overall responsibility for making both ends meet for the whole family in multigenerational families.

On the contrary, living in one-person or nuclear households sometimes causes troubles. Housework is the first drawback. In large extended families, each of the members is responsible for one task, so household chores can be easily split and completed. However, this is not the case for people living in smaller units on the grounds that they have to spend much more time on these chores, which can become a waste of time in their working life. More significantly, being in small families has a detrimental effect on the child development. As we are living in the modern era where both males and females have equal rights to earn a living, which leads to the lack of time parents are supposed to spend with their children. And if this situation continues, children, in a consequence, will probably develop their anti-social behaviors, thus becoming more prone to autism.

On a whole, even though there are some problems caused by living alone or in small units, I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages in such aspects as domestic economy, family conflicts as well as privacy. Before reaching the final decision to live in nuclear households, it is essential that parents should consider the best ways to raise their children with a view to avoiding the negative impacts that can have.