In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that people tend to live alone or in a nuclear family instead of in large, extended family groups. Although there are advantages of the trend, I believe that it is a negative trend.

Living alone or in a nuclear family could have several benefits. The main advantage is more private time. Living with a large group of relatives, chances are that we need to have meals together frequently. This occupies our own time which we might spend with our friends or alone. What’s more, living alone or with a nuclear family, we only need to purchase a small apartment or a studio. But when it comes to extended family groups, buying a villa is necessary and this does put stress on young people without a strong financial muscle.

Despite the above advantages, I believe living with large family members is much more advisable. In the same living place, family members could look after each other better. The children will not feel lonely and are able to have fun with their peers. Also, many scientists have claimed that it is easier for children who are brought up with other children to understand share and have a prospectus career. In addition, the elderly relatives can help young adults to babysit their children and at the same time, the old are able to kill time.

In conclusion, while living in a large and extended family have some advantage, I believe that it is a negative trend.