In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without

employment.

What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should

be done about it?

It is true, indeed, that there is a considerable number of graduates without employment, even in developed countries. The country where I came from, Portugal, is a great example of that.

From my point of view, there are several reasons which justify such situation. I will start with the economic ones. In places where university is not that expensive, since government has an important contribution in supporting people's studies, it takes to over graduates number because there aren't enough job opportunities for them. Once again, I'll make a parallelism with Portugal. Our economy is weak, in general people are not well-paid, and we have more small companies and stores, than big multinationals, which are restricted to technology and telecommunications. Therefore, studying areas regarding technological development, present great employment rates. In contrast, almost all other subjects, like architecture, medicine, arts or science faces quite the opposite, i. e., very low hiring rates. Sometimes, despite existing vacancies, the job monthly payment is small, taking into account all the effort and sacrifice people had during their courses. In my opinion, this happens because Portugal doesn't have the economic capacity to employ so many people. We are a country of small commerce, and traditionally, people don't pay for architectures or scientific investigation so, it's difficult to have companies specialized in these thematic. They would prefer to buy smartphones, computers and TV's.

Other problem is that we are facing too many types of university courses. We have graduated people for almost any work. Furthermore, there are university subjects with no relevance within the country economy. It's important that government, educational institutions and even the students, to realize that it does not make sense to have high qualifications for everything. Despite government help in funding people's studies, university continues to be costly for students and families who support them. In my opinion, it is important to erase this cultural trend, that everyone's need a high qualification to get a job or to have future opportunities.

Overall, I think sometimes being a graduated can complicate employment, rather than ease it, since there are a lot of constrains that come with high qualifications level, both mental and monetary. Although people know they deserve more money because they are graduated, small companies don't have the capacity to pay those amounts and then, previous students prefer to be unemployed or to evaluate emigration possibilities.