In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods. This is having a negative effect on both families and societies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is stated that traditional cuisine is universally substituted with fast foods, which induces adverse effects on both families and societies. In my opinion, i agree with this statement.

The first plausible rationale why fast foods are increasingly gaining popularity is because of their being convenient and time-saving. With a brisk pace of life in modern days, a majority of people do not even spare time taking care of themselves, let alone eating. Consequently, fast foods which require a marginal amount of time to prepare and only cost an affordable sum of money, could cater for people’s demands. Secondly, junk foods also attract a huge flock of consumers due to their appetizing taste. With convenience food stores emerging ubiquitously, people could immediately serve themselves a five-minute-dish and, therefore, precooked foods are quietly infiltrating our eating habits and replacing our conventional, nourishing meals.

However, it is evident that convenient refreshment poses a tremendous threat to our community. The first drawback is that these types of dishes are of detriment to consumers’ well-being. Cooked with a substantial amount of oil, fat along with alcoholic beverages and soft drinks, junk foods significantly contribute to the proportion of obese people in our population. Another negative impact should be taken into account is that fast foods are gradually overshadowing our diverse cuisine, which in turn leads to a loss in culture. For example, when traveling abroad, tourists inevitably want to explore authentic specialities, which are regarded as one of national symbols. But what if chain stores of fast food branches are mostly found ?

In conclusion, not only obesity and overweight but also culture loss are attributable to fast foods to some extent. Therefore, consumption on this sort of food should be degraded and people should allocate more resources to promote and ameliorate images of traditional cuisine.