Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is questioned whether the science of food and cooking should be introduced into school curriculum or students should devote their time to other imperative subjects. In this essay, I will examine the issue from both views and express my opinion in the end.

On the one hand, children should be taught about food and how to cook. The first rationale is that studying food science provides students with fundamental knowledge about what they eat everyday, such as nutrition, balanced diet, what is nourishing for their health or what should be avoided. This not only helps learners be aware of their well-being but also facilitates their daily meal management. Another justification for teaching kids how to cook is to equip them with an indispensable skill. The elementary demand for leading an independent life in the future is to acquire culinary skill, which youngsters can be well educated at school.

On the other hand, it is plausible why some people are opposed to this subject. It is apparent that substantial numbers of students are striving for entrance to a prestigious university, which escalates the severity of the competition and requires the best endeavours. Moreover, it is commonly believed that those getting superb performance in academic subjects like maths, physics, literature are more likely to attend a reputable university and have a well-paid job in the future. Students, therefore, are expected to dedicate their time and effort to these compulsory courses instead of learning basic skills like cooking.

In conclusion, learning about how to prepare food and have a healthy diet is never futile, though it might be time-consuming. Therefore, the optimal approach is to learn mandatory lessons at school and gain basic life skills at home.