In many countries, university students have to move to other cities to study. Do you think the benefits of living away from home while studying outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a school of thought that university students expect to be moved out to different cities for learning purposes in many nations, which more brings benefits of living away from home while studying than the negative effects. In my perspective, the advantages of experiencing a new life away from home for studying brought out by these developments outweigh the disadvantages.

Opponents of this trend argue that there are many negative aspects of living away from family, which causes lots of mild drawbacks later. Firstly, Students couldn’t take care of themselves as well as their family. In terms of living in a new area, they might encounter these challenges such as the nutrition of daily meals, house chores which occupy a great amount of time. In this case, they will waste a lot of study time so as to harm their academic performance. Moreover, they might face homesickness and loneliness while studying, which badly hurt introverted people. Specifically, students in their first year have a tendency to experience a sense of homesickness. As a result, they will get a lot of pressure from studying and new life surrounding them. Secondly, Without sufficient care encompassing observation, advice from parents, students might get into some troubles such as drug use, gambling and being unmotivated mentally…It will negatively affect their scores in criteria’s performance.

However, I believe that there are many benefits in taking the risk of challenges while living away from family, making a great experience for students. In many ways, students might get maturer over their studying time because they need to be independent while facing a lot of pressure and problems. In other words, they might encounter unexpected challenges which obligate them to deal with many mental states and pressures. Experiencing a new life also means that they will get less support from their family which undermines the reliance on their family. By againsting many difficulties, they could find the way to get better in many skills encompassing solving problems, communication ... .Furthermore, they might get a chance to explore the new culture from different places by relocating to a completely new living environment. They get many opportunities to learn in an exotic customary and traditional values so as to broaden their horizons and become more open-minded. Consequently, they are able to solve problems on their own, and enhance their knowledge.

In conclusion, the advantages of experiencing a new life away from home are beneficial to students in many ways, which undermine the negative aspects.