Many countries use fossil fuels such as coal or oil as the main sources of energy. However, in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

Governments across continents have turned their attention to more sustainable sources of energy as alternatives to fossil fuel. In my opinion, this could be seen as a progress for the following reasons.

First, there is no arguing that producing energy from buried dead organisms lacks sustainability, which means such production could not guarantee the survival of humans in the long term. In fact, the consumption of energy generated from fossil fuel tends to accelerate in direct correlation with the growth of the world population. With the current rate of exploitation, this valuable resource would dwindle away in no time, leaving no other choices than seeking additional reserves such as nuclear power or hydroelectricity. this is a safe solution to the fear of energy scarcity and ensures the future development of the human race.

Second, dependence on fossil fuel for worldwide energy supply would cause environmental degradation while using solar power, for example, is considered an ultimate choice of energy conservation. The combustion of fossil fuels is the culprit of greenhouse gas emission and other air pollutants, leading to tremendous damage to the environment. such suffering of the Earth could not be justified by the growing need of humans. By contrast, this would never be the case when it comes to other alternatives as mentioned above. If governments continue to invest in exploiting those new sources, there will be an unlimited amount of inexpensive energy on the long run.

In conclusion, I believe that the use of other potential energy sources to replace fossil fuel is obviously an important step forward.