Many criminals re-offended after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Ex-offenders can still continue to commit crime after release into society. For me, there are many reasons behind this, however some practical methods can solve this problem.

Key reasons that cause re-offending are poverty, unemployment and lack of education. Firstly, people who were sentenced to prison cannot look for a job for making a living because of their criminal records. Therefore they have no other way to afford their daily living except illegal activity that is a wide range of offences from minor crimes like pickpocket to serious crimes like drug tracking and murder. Secondly, ex-offenders received insufficient training of reintegration programs before being released from prison to reintegrate back into society. For example, they do not be educated enough vocational knowledge that enables them to have a job after prison.

To deal with this matter, some feasible measures should be implemented with support of government and local residents. Firstly, the government and local authority should create chances for people who have been punished to have a suitable job covering their own lives such as public area cleaners, security guards or sport trainers. Secondly, law-abiding citizens give ex-offenders chances for rehabilitation. It is necessary and meaningful for prisoners to be treated as usual people and not recalled their past lives. Finally, it is beneficial to build vocational training that prepares prisoners for release into community. This programs need to be set up based on ability and experiences of each convict.

Poverty, unemployment and lack of training are main reasons that lead to re-offending, however this problem would reduce based on some possible solutions.