In many deveoloping countries these is a problem of declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures can be taken to prevent this?

Pollution from factories and construction results in the contamination of air and water, which is problematic in third world countries. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with the poor quality of air and water.

Firstly, important reasons which contribute to air pollution include, the carbon dioxide emissions released through burning fossil fuels in industries, the use of toxic material and the high levels of dust generated via construction. This produces major problems, including the greenhouse effect and ozone depletion that increases UV exposure causing health issues, such as skin cancer. Secondly, water pollution is a direct result of the dumping of industrial waste and harmful substances in various water bodies. This induces severe health problems which include infection from water-borne diseases and kidney failure. Ergo, air and water contamination give rise to long term consequences to the environment and human health which have to be dealt with seriously.

There are a few effective solutions to the low quality of air and water. Two ways to tackle the air pollution problem is for industries to switch from fossil fuels to natural gases and for construction companies to use environment-friendly materials; therefore, this will dramatically reduce the harmful emissions of carbon dioxide and other pollutants. Water pollution can be prevented if industries and construction companies stop dumping their waste in water bodies; instead, they should use appropriate, safe methods to get rid of their toxic substances. Also, an improved filtration system should be introduced to purify water. Hence, this will prevent a plethora of diseases and offer people clean water.

In conclusion, placing and following proper guidelines to help factories and construction companies operate safely will prevent the critical consequences of water and air contamination.