New media has a great influence on people's lives, is this a negative or positive development?

<!--break-->With the rapid developments of the internet and social media, it has become easy for new media to deliver information and news to the public. Although drawbacks do exist, the advantages are countless. I believe that the benefits have more significance than the demerits.

<!--break-->On the one hand, the proliferation of the World Wide Web and social media have made accessing information faster and easier. With a few clicks of a button, news of the world, health and sports articles, personal information, and much more are now readily available. For instance, laptops and tablets enable popular applications, such as Facebook and Twitter, which allow people to connect with each other, share photos, news, events, and informative articles. As a result, people are able to expand their knowledge, keep up with important events, and enhance their critical thinking in making every day life decisions.

<!--break-->On the other hand, cyberbullying and accessing inappropriate websites have risen from the revolution of new media. The fast spread of false information has made it easy for teenagers to hide behind their screens and cyberbully each other while facing no consequences. In addition, young children are able to reach improper websites making them more vulnerable to predators who can take advantages of them. For instance, the suicide rates amongst young adults have dramatically increased due to cyberbullying, as well as the kidnapping rates of children who are used for sex trafficking. Therefore, it is important to recognize the flaws of new media and take crucial steps to control these issues.

<!--break--> In conclusion, compared to the disadvantages that can be monitored by parents, the vast improvements which resulted from the innovation of new media definitely exceeds its negative effects.