Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What mental and physical problems may arise from excessive use of these games? How could these problems be reduced?

In the technology world, youngsters, especially children, have an enormous bent to play with computer games which increases concerns of the majority of doctors. They believe that these games have detrimental impacts on both mental and physical wellbeing, particularly when they are played excessively. This essay deals with the drawbacks of these games and introduces some remedies to diminish the negative effect of them.

While it may be correct that through video games, children appear to boost their learning skills, however, many experts believe that their negative effect outweighs the benefits, meaning that they undermine the mental health of children. Evident is that these games contain violent actions which evoke the nervous system of the players. Due to this stimulation, we can see more nervous children these days because they are under stressful conditions during leisure times, and they do not have time to relax from pressure. Moreover, children who prefer to play with computers are under the risk of isolation because they do not participate in group games. Therefore, they tend to deal with emotional problems in the future.

It is also universally accepted the fact that computer games result in various physical problems. The foremost challenge arises from these games is the sedentary lifestyle of modern children which directly brings health issues ranging from obesity and even vision problems. As the former weakens children’s activity levels and leads to some deadly illnesses like cardiovascular diseases in future, the latter strains eyesight of the children.

Turning to possible solutions, first of all, parents should encourage an active lifestyle by subsidising sports clubs and gyms for their children. Furthermore, it would be an enjoyable idea if fathers and mothers attend competitive events and programmes with their children to ameliorating family physical status. Another widely observed remedy is raising awareness in schools and TV commercials. By using sports champions and role models to inform children, they seem to pursue healthy lifestyles.

In conclusion, video games might bring mental problems such as anxiety as well as emotional issues, and physical problems like fatness and poor eyesight. The possible methods to address these problems can be changing lifestyle through parents help and the effects of role models on a child’s life.