Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

There is a fact that subsidizing clubs and gyms membership can enhance the workforce's wellness, and therefore they will be more productive at work. However, some might argue that this issue does not contain any positive effects. In this essay, arguments of both sides of this polemical topic will be analyzed before reaching a concluding point.

On the one hand, those who are in favor of this subject express their viewpoints cogently. The cardinal reason behind their unwavering support is that as people and even especially workers start to working out regularly, they become healthier. By this I mean that while the staff is fit, they feel less stressed and more contented, directly contributing to higher levels of output and services. Furthermore, it seems that including some leisure time might ameliorate the work/life balance of the employees, which is more motivational than financial rewards such as bonus or incentives. Finally, feeling healthier appears to result in job satisfaction which is itself a motivating factor.

By stark contrast, the problem with this topic is that sometimes it can be challenging to measure the effectiveness of them. Hence, the opponents represent other dominant roots ranging from on the job training and day release programs as underlying factors of effectiveness. For instance, throughout training time on the job, workers can progress on their career. Moreover, by spending the entire day out of work, they might stay away from workplace pressure and have better job prospects. So, allocating a specific amount of funds on these activities tends to improve work quality.

In conclusion, it is logical to state that even though subsidizing sports clubs can be beneficial to increase the quality of work, other criteria such as on the job training and day release programs need to be taken into account.