Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The question of whether or not elderly people should be put in care or nursing homes or took care of by their children has been a matter of debate since the beginning of the twenty-first century. While there are some benefits of personally look after one's parents, i believe that it is better to send them to the community homes for elderly.

To begin with, there are many reasons why the amount of old people being sent to the nursing homes are increasing. First, many young people nowadays have a tight schedule, so by sending their parents to the nursing homes, the staff will make sure to take good care of their parents. this means that the young one can have more time to deal with their work without worrying about their senior. Second, many hospices, within the fund from a wide range of organisation, are providing welfare for the old and assure that one's parents will have a good experience at their place. For example places like Hoa Hong or Tuoi Gia are being built with the aim of giving the retiree a good place to live in with sufficient facilities.

On the other hand, there are several problem when permitting strange people to take care of one's parents. Firstly, besides those developed nursing homes, their are many places that do not provide enough care and sometimes treat the elderly people badly. For instance, many communities have been caught using violence toward the old people which later can result in the deteriorate in both physical and mental health of the old one. More than that, putting the old people in care or nursing homes, can reduce the amount of time that the whole family spend together. this situation will result in the degradation of the people's feeling towards their family.

To conclude, although spending the old generation to the nursing home may have potential problems, i belive that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.