OUR PERSONALITIES ARE PREDETERMINED AS A RESULT OF OUR GENES BEFORE WE ARE BORN AND THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE TO ALTER OUR CHARACTER TRAITS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE?

There is a widely held perception in many part of the world today that our personalities have been formed before our birth and it is impossible to be changed. While I agree that genes can form the way we behave, I believe that other factors can alter our traits during lifetime.

It is undeniabled that our parents characteristics strongly affect our charater . Firstly, many people’s personalities are directly linked to their family members. This means, they possess it from their parents so their reactions and expressions towards some specific situations are exactly the same as their parents do. More than that, dominant gene which appear in people can affect their young in both positive and negative ways. For example, a recent study by Australian international school revealed that a student is likely to perform well at school if their parents genetically were intelligent and vice versa.

On the other hand, there are several factors that can alter our character traits. First, it is widely believed that the surroundings and environment that people expose to may change the way they behave and express their emotions. This means, when people frequently interact with their friends or co-workers, they can be influenced by each other personalities and alter themselves in order to be suitable with the surrounders. Secondly, undergoing dramatic changes in lives, people can change their character traits. Take Taeyeon, a Kpop idol for instance, who has received numerous hates from antifans after a scandal, has negatively changed herself from an extrovert to an introvert.

In conclusion, although each individual’s personality has developed pre-birth, I still believe that it can be modified by other factors.