The nuclear family is well adapted to move geographically due to its size. Do you think children benefit in any way from moving? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a widely held perception in many parts of the world today that the elementary family is adaptable to migrate overseas as it consists of small family units. While frequently relocate to other places can benefit children, I believe that it is overshadowed by the drawbacks.

There are various reasons why the usual change of living places may have positive impacts on children. Firstly, it is widely believed that children can develop their social skills due to the frequent shift to new nations. This means, during the process of getting familiar with the surroundings many children can build up relationships with new friends, therefore, they can learn and enhance some valuable skills that are useful for their future. A case in point is my aunt, whose family usually move geographically, claimed that her children were becoming more mature and independent. Secondly, switching to new regions oftenly, children may have opportunities to learn in better educational programs, which can contribute to well-paid jobs in the future.

On the other hand, some negative aspects of moving abroad should also be taken into consideration. Firstly, some children, especially those who are introverts, may struggle to make friends and communicate with strangers. This means, it is difficult for them to adapt to new environments and sometimes encounter serious schools’ problems like discrimination or violence, which results in the deterioration of their mental and physical health. Secondly, children may lose concentration on their studies since they have to spend their precious time on building up relationship with their new people. Consequently, their academic record may be negatively influenced.

To conclude, although the young generation may benefit from the frequent change of living places, I believe that the drawbacks still outweigh the advantages.