SMALL COMPANIES SHOULD AVOID RECRUITING YOUNG WOMAN WHO DO NOT HAVE THEIR OWN FAMILY IN ORDER TO AVOID PAYING MATERNITY LEAVE LATER ON.

Whether or not businesses should hire unmarried woman has been receiving endless public view. Although many think that companies can avoid maternity leave payment if they do not hire young females, i partly agree with such statement. However, there are still many benefits of recruiting young woman.

There is a reason why recruiting young woman can adversly affect some businesses. First, some companies, especially those which low budgets, may run out of business if spending too much on maternity leave. This means, with a high amount of payment having to pay on woman leaving their job because of giving birth, companies may lose lots of profit and that they do not have much money left to invest on other beneficial sectors. For example, Australian companies said that they had to spend about six to nine months salary for maternity leave and claimed that it is hard to maintain their budget.

On the other hand, there are several factors why young females can bring benefits to the companies. First, it cannot be denied that woman who do not have their own family have more time to spend on their work. This means they can work for longer hours and can cope with a heavy workload because they are not responsible for taking care after their children. Secondly, being young, unmarried woman are more productive and that they can come up with new or unique ideas. For instance, Harvard business professor argued that they are likely to hire young woman because they can work efficiently and that more than half of their woman employees are unmarried.

To conclude, although recruiting young woman can create some potential downsides, I believe that there are some benefits that can be taken into consideration.