Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think

that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether or not artists should require total freedom in order to boost their creativity has been a matter of debate since the beginning of the twenty-first century. While freedom can bring some benefits to artist in their work, i personally believe that some restrictions are needed in order to avoid any unpleasant situations.

There are reasons why freedom is required for artists to produce art pieces. First, without restriction, artists, especially who revealing political or social meaning through their art-work, may catch the society’s attention. This means, by showing the social issues through their art work, people can raise awareness towards the problem and can bring justice to everyone. For example, the Hope replayed a rape case of a 6-year-old girl in Korean, which highlighted the importance of protecting the young one. Second, by having enough freedom, artists can produce masterpieces, which require creativity and unlimited sources of ideas and that can positively affect the world.

On the other hand, it is widely believed that art has a significant impact on the society so there must be some restrictions needed in order to avoid any negative influences. First, art pieces that contain discrimination content like: gender, ethnic minority, religious, may result in conflict among the society and other bad consequences. For instance, the ‘Man’s power’ that depicts and supports the idea of letting man rules the world disregard for the role of woman in the society. Secondly, if violence is represented through art, it can cause distortion among children and that it can cause some adverse effects on their behaviour. Thus, limitations are required to avoid any harmful effect on the society.

To conclude, although some freedom is necessary for artists to produce such masterpieces, I believe that art should be control in case that it can have some negative influences on the society.