Artistic freedom has been of paramount importance in the progress of forging excellence and exceptionality. Its irreplaceable function leads some people to argue that total freedom should be encouraged among any artists. The following paragraphs of this essay will reason why I partly agree with the statement above.

To begin with, it is undeniable that artistic creativity can be sophisticatedly cultivated when there is no authoritatively oppressing restrictions on the subjects. Imagine a condition in which some particular artistic themes are proscribed by powerful political parties or despots as a means of hegemony. Under that scenario, arts have been no longer precious works but a display of flamboyant and decadent schemes solely belonged to the string pullers. Such works are bound to be run-of-the-mill as the imagination and capability of their creators are molded into some kinds of machines that countenance merely political-oriented goals but not compassion and prosperity of humans in general. That is to say, artistic creativity is prone to be impeded by controlling and coercion.

Having said that, total artistic freedom is much likely to be turned into a pernicious apparatus under the hands of mendacious and rebellious creators themselves. There are certain ideologies and behaviors which are indecorous and misleading enough to cause pandemonium and distress among the most harmonious groups. To put it in another way, there are still some masquerading artworks that intrinsically provokes sexual desires, abusive propensity and cupidity among the meaningful ones. Such images are much likely to be a catalyst for self-abnegation, public devastation and moral corruption among susceptible targets. How could one live in a stable and satisfying way provided that the ugly things on the paintings hanged over his society is existent and continues to threaten his life? Therefore, to maintain social stability and modesty, governmental curation in arts will be one of the most instrumental guidances for its people in dark times.

In a nutshell, although artistic freedom serves as a powerful tool to enhance creativity and expand our artistic horizon, it is highly important that with governmental curation it do not get out of hand and turn into indirect machine guns and latent bombs ingrained in our society.