Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are become more isolated Discuss both sides give your opinion

Thanks to the Digital Revolution, we have had an opportunity to witness a remarkable shift from traditional means of communication to ever-growing global network of computers, also known as the internet. Over the course of time, the internet has dramatically transformed our interaction styles and social relationships to the extent which brings about contentious attitudes towards the topic. There are two possible ways of thinking in this issue: one opinion about our unprecedentedly close-knit contact in this all-pervading information world and other one addressing unwelcomed concerns about our resulting separation. This essay will discuss those two perspectives and state my own viewpoint.

To start with, it is incontrovertible that the internet has been creating a global phenomenon where people being online share content and use the same websites to interact. One compelling illustration to this is Facebook- a popular free social networking website created by Mark Zuckerberg and some of his friends. Facebook’s own statistics suggest that over 10,000 new websites integrate with the Facebook site every day, which means there is massive potential for interaction on an online platform and for smaller websites to benefit from the success of larger ones, thereby connecting different groups from different industries through a central hub. On smaller scale, Facebook brings us closer since distance is no longer an obstacle for personal relationships with unlimited access and unbounded range of time, which makes it easier to keep in touch with our distant relatives and friends.

Turn to the remaining standpoint, it appears to be rather ironic that the more time we spend on this integrated platform, the less attention we pay to our real-life relationships and our surroundings. With such immoderate immersion into the internet, we have a propensity to feel lonely when our phones are off, not to mention the possibility of being left out in the cold even in public places. Moreover, the problem seems to be way too complicated when we take politics and other aspects, in which the internet turns into a powerful manipulative apparatus, into account. For instance, China, North Korea, and Egypt once put restrictions on internet access in order to control protestors. That is to say, there is dominance found in regulating the internet and that those who are not online are isolated from those who are through the denial of communication. Hence, even if the internet works to help us connect with each other, it pushes those who aren’t online further towards the margin of society.

To sum up, the internet has been both regarded as a tool to reinforce connection among human beings and at the same time keep them from realistic contacts. As I see, notwithstanding this ongoing discourse over whether the internet brings contemporary people closer or gradually brings them to the brink of being abandoned and ostracized, it is of high significance that internet users make the most out of it in order not to fall into addiction and self-imprisonment, which are catalysts for isolation and loneliness in this overcrowded world.