The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live think and behave However some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life To what extent do you agree or disagree w

The older generations are often regarded as people with a customary system of beliefs taking roots since time immemorial. Some claim that these ideas, despite being way traditional, still hold value regarding our lifestyle, school of thought and decorum. Others, however, argue they are becoming irrelevant for the young in this ever-changing world. To my mind, I partly agree with the former viewpoint.

On the one hand, it is understandable that some traditional ideas of the old are outdated to younger generations. One thing is contractual marriage. Many teenagers wish to individually opt for their partner based on their compatible characteristic patterns. That means the concept of defining a spouse dependent solely on their status and financial condition is fairly narrow-minded to most people nowadays. What is more, the idea related to gender inequality of older time which was justified has become intolerable to younger generations. Some social movements like “Metoo movement” is an exemplary of the youth trying to eradicate the gender gap that prevents women from climbing up the corporate ladder and taking control of their own lives.

On the other hand, I believe we ought to hold onto some ideas still valuable to the young in this brisk-pace world although they stem from ancient time and lifestyle. To begin with, the notion of hard work and determination would lead to success and fulfillment is of great importance regardless of timeline and types of job. Everything outstanding seems to boil down to perseverence, for example becoming a doctor or building up a marvelous theater. Second, patriotism which has been long considered a vital component for properous nation still holds value to the young. Many professionals, although working in other nations, have an inclination to return to their homecountry for comparable contribution with the love of nation in their hearts. Last but not least, the young can learn to take pride in their jobs as their ancestors did regardless of how low the wage was at that time, which leads to high self-esteem and dedication.

In conclusion, although traditional views are too old to be applied to modern contexts, I strongly believe some of them still help younger generations to be well-prepared and confident for stepping into this challenging environment.